Day 8 – The one where it got a bit overwhelming

I kind of thought / hoped that by the start of day 8 I would feel like I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case this morning and for the first time this week this whole thing got a bit overwhelming.

Past 10in10ers try to explain what it’s like to live in the ‘Brathay bubble’, but having now experienced it myself for over a week, it’s not something you can put into words. There are ups and downs, highs and lows, laughter and tears all rolled up into a load of marathons.

But we are all in it together. The support from the other runners, as well as the support team and family and friends keeps us going, putting one foot in front of the other and running from drinks box to drinks box. And that’s exactly what I did today, each box moving me closer to the finish line on Sunday.

I also knew that I was going to see Emma at the finish for the first time this week, having not seen her since last Wednesday. I was really looking forward to that, so that was very good motivation to keep going.

And so another marathon is done, in just under 3.14.

I’ve mentioned my physio Martyn in a few of my previous blogs. This guy is an absolute hero, as are all the second year students from the University of Cumbria. They spend around four hours every day getting us ready to run in the morning, and then putting us back together each afternoon so we can do the same thing to ourselves the next day.

IMG_1380

Photo: Eight down and Martyn joins me in the ice bath

The only reason I’ve been able to get this far is because of everything Martyn has done, and he will make sure I make it across the finish line on Sunday. He puts me through a lot of pain on the bench in the clinic, but I know it’s what I need to keep me going. I can’t thank him enough.

What is also keeping me going are all the donations. We are nearly up to £9,500, in sight of my new target of £10,000. I like numbers, and raising £10k as runner number 10 for the 10in10 has a rather lovely ring to it!

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/10in10MikeSprot

 

One thought on “Day 8 – The one where it got a bit overwhelming

Leave a Reply

